X     Close Navigation

School Governance

Anglican Diocese

The Glennie School is owned and governed by the Corporation of the Synod of the Diocese of Brisbane (Diocese) which operates its authority through the Anglican Schools Commission (ASC).

Governing Body

As a Diocesan Owned School, the governing body of the School is Diocesan Council. The members of Diocesan Council are:

The Most Reverend Dr P J Aspinall
The Right Reverend C Venables
The Right Reverent J Greaves
The Reverend G Hoyte
Mr D O’Connor
Mrs J Dyke
The Reverend A Lowe
Dr Gemma Dashwood
The Right Reverend Dr J C Holland
The Venerable G F Harch
The Reverend J Woolner
The Reverend G Moses
Dr R. S Kerr OAM
The Honourable Justice D Mullins

Diocesan Council delegates certain governance functions to the School Council via the School’s Constitution.

In circumstances where the directors of the governing body must be provided with a report about sexual abuse or likely sexual abuse the Diocesan Council has, pursuant to Section 366B of the Education (General Provisions) Act, delegated that role to Mr Greg Milles, the Director of Professional Standards within the Diocese.

Click here to view the Archbishop's message to schools in 2018.

School Council

The Glennie School Council powers are subject to its Constitution and the Canons of the Diocese and works with ASC regarding School operations.

In delegating responsibilities to the Glennie School Council through the Constitution of the Glennie School, the Diocese has a reasonable and legitimate expectation that the Council and Council members will act within Corporations Law.

The Glennie School Council has a strategic guidance role to work with and provide support for the Head of School. Council members are appointed by the Archbishop-in-Council through the ASC and act in an honorary capacity, without remuneration.

Being a member of Council is a fiduciary role that is undertaken in good faith with a focus on the best interests of the School and in accordance with the Council’s Governance Manual.

Meet the School Council

Contact the School Council


The School Council has the following Sub-Committees:

  • Finance
  • Audit and Risk
  • Governance
  • Head of School Review
  • Ad Hoc